McCandless/Carothers Families

Discussion in 'Main Forum' started by judbow, Jan 21, 2008.

1. judbow

judbow New Member

I am new at searching family genealogy, but in my recent research ran across information on John McCANDLESS, my 5th great grandfather, who was suppose to have come from Antrim, Ireland. His birth date was about 1740-1750. He married Jane CAROTHERS born about the same time and died in 1820 in the United States. She too came from Antrim or Down. I have no information on when they came to the United States but their son, James M. McCANDLESS, my 4th great grandfather, was also born in Ireland about 1772 and died in 1840 in Pennsylvania. After relocating to the United States, mostly in the Butler County, Pennsylvania area, the family prospered and owned a considerable amount of land in that area. I would appreciate any information regarding the McCANDLESS and/or CAROTHERS families of Antrim, Ireland. So sad not to know the history of the family!

2. LBarner

LBarner New Member

Hello, I have been doing genealogy for quite a while and I am related to George McCandless, another son of John McCandless and Jane Carothers.

Below is some information I have accumulated from multiple sources on John and Jane McCandless.

John and Jane (Carothers) McCandless lived in County Down Ireland, and were the parents of six children: John, George, James, William, Jane and Elizabeth. When these sons grew to manhood they longed to come to the new country of which they had heard and read so much--the United States of America. But they feared that the country might not be all it was represented to be. So the family sent their son George to visit America and report. George's older brother John, with his wife and little daughter emigrated to America shortly after.