Pre 1864 records

Discussion in 'Main Forum' started by whispering moon, Aug 25, 2017.

1. whispering moon

whispering moon New Member

Hi
    I know this is going to seem like a stupid question to many but one that I'm afraid I need to ask.
    Can someone please tell me where I can find free pre 1864 BMD records. I realise that records of earlier marriages are available but I need births and deaths as well going back, basically as far as possible. I'm pretty new to this search and am stuck. I've been using the irish genealogy site which has been great because they have the photocopies of records which allow me to get extra information such as parents details. If I could get something like this for earlier records that would be great.

2. Elwyn

Elwyn Member

Statutory births, deaths and RC marriages started in 1864. Non RC marriages started in April 1845. Prior to those dates you need to rely on church records. Not all church records have survived and not all are on-line. And of those that are on-line, not all are free.

For deaths, only the Church of Ireland & Quakers routinely kept burial records. Few other denominations did.

Irish genealogy has many of the statutory records for all of Ireland but it has very few church records for Ulster. In fact I am not sure it has any yet. RC birth & marriage records are on-line free on the NLI site: http://registers.nli.ie/parishes

But for other denominations, assuming your ancestors lived in Co Antrim or adjacent counties, if you want free records, you would need to go and view the copies held in PRONI in Belfast. They are not on-line. Some of the genealogy sites like rootsireland, Ulster Historical Foundation and Emerald Ancestors have some church records but they are all pay to view or subscription sites.

Tell us what denomination your ancestors were, and where they lived. I can then advise what church records exist and where they are stored.

3. whispering moon